Supreme Court Clerking and an Enlightening Dressing

For those of you who haven’t heard, I have just been accepted to clerk for Chief Justice Ireland.  Who is he, you ask?  Justice Ireland is the chief justice for the Supreme Judicial Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  In other words, the highest judge in the highest court in the state!  I am super excited and hope that this opens the doors for many opportunities in the future.  what you need to take away from this is that I am very excited and honored.  One of my girlfriends asked me what I was going to make to celebrate.

It was a very odd moment for me, because what I wanted more than anything in that moment was the salad that was served for Krishna lunch in the Plaza of the Americas at the University of Florida.  Having not been from there, my friend had no idea what I was talking about.  I tried to explain that it was this heavenly, creamy, nutty, salty amazing salad dressing  that neared perfection.  I promise I am not exaggerating.  At any rate I jumped online and found a recipe that tasted close, but not exact.  Several trials later, this is what I’ve come up with.  To those of you from UF who know how amazing this dressing is…this is for you!  It is super easy and only requires a food processor.  I REALIZE IT DOESN’T LOOK AS INCREDIBLY APPETIZING AS IT ACTUALLY IS…AS MY MOTHER HAS SO ASTUTELY POINTED OUT…BUT GIVE IT A SHOT!!!

1/2 cup raw almonds

1/2 cup neutral tasting oil ( I use just under a 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup nutritional yeast

1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

1/8 teaspoon hing (asafetida)* or 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Combine all ingredients, except water, in a food processor and blend until smooth. 

Slowly add water to reach the desired thickness.  The dressing will thicken a bit as it sits.

*Hing is an awful smelling dried sap of a plant.  It is colloquially known as devil’s dung!  It is common in many curries and hints to garlic and onion.  To me it smells like rotting onion and burning hair or rubber, but don’t let that deter you from trying it.  I highly recommend it in this recipe, but garlic powder will do in a pinch.

~ by thevintedlawstudent on February 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
